I'm going to share all of my knowledge of the deadly sins with all you people. I'll tell you the lores and saying they've inspired, along with general information. I'll also talk about my characters who are based off them. So, sit back and enjoy.











Gula (Gluttony)

Hello again everyone! It's that update that I said I'd have. It took a few days longer than expected to organize all the research. I've discovered something though, while the deadly sins are centuries and centuries old, the information on them remains brief. Never the less, I give you the information that I know in the easiest way possible.

1: excess in eating and/or drinking
2: greedy or excessive indulgence

In the first of ten spots there is gula, the deadly sin of over-eating. Gula was a way for the people of yesterday to teach their children about proper eating. It's a very quick and to the point sin. Don't pig out, it isn't proper.

Today everybody is a practicer of gula in some way. I know that when I'm pulling an all night movie or TV show marathon with my friends I'll stuff my face. Some things are better with insane amounts of food.

Gula gets the first spot because it is seen as the most unharmful of the ten sins. I guess the kind of gluttony that truly represents gula is when you put your need for food over the needs of others. This makes gula greed related. As time goes on you'll steadily see that all ten deadly sins are interelated.

"He is like a pig!"
I've heard people wonder about the origins of that simple phrase. It falls back to the sin, gula. The representory animal of gula is the pig. Long ago, man was the representory gender. None of the sins are truly gender orianted but when someone thought gula, they thought man. Sorry guys. The color of this sin is orange.

Gula, Legendary from "Odds"

Over the years, seven of the ten sins have gripped writers. Books, TV, movies; countless have been written with some form of the sins. Dante's Inferno, a classic book about seven of the ten sins. Seven, a movie about seven of the ten sins. Fullmetal Alchemist, a television show that has seven of the ten sins as characters. These are just an example of each.

I must be getting to "work". The next sin will be luxuria (lust). This one will take a little more time. If you're a practicer or just hold this one in value, check back here in a week for an update to see when luxuria will be uncovered.

Thanks for stopping in and have a fantasic day/afternoon/night.


Pending Update

Hello everybody and a happy mother's day. I've finished with my schooling and don't have to start up again until September. Which is pretty awesome because college usually starts in August but I'm going to film school to learn how to make movies so things are run differently. Ahem, not the point. The point is that this world will be updated later this week. The first deadly sin we'll be looking at is gula [gluttony]. If this is a personal sin, whether you are a practicer or just hold it in general interest, then look for the update later this week!


I know I've been neglecting this world. I've gotten passed introductions and now it's time to go in depth with each individual sin. I wanted to go in order and I wanted to have a picture of each with the representory animal. Unfortunately, I've only drawn maerens and that's the last. Also, with that being one of the forgotten three, I feel it's too shaky to open with that one. I'll try to get a picture of gula but it'll take awhile since now my academic life is over taking my actual life. Please, bear with me, I will get it all finished. For your enjoyment, here is one half of the academic reason it's taking me so long to complete a updating this world.

From childhood's hour I have not been
As others were-I have not seen
As others saw-I could not bring
My passions from a common spring.
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow; I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone;
And all I lov'd, I lov'd alone.
Then-in my childhood-in the dawn
Of a most stormy life-was drawn
From ev'ry depth of good and ill
The mystery which binds me still:
From the torrent, or the fountain,
From the red cliff of the mountain,
From the sun that 'round me roll'd
In its autumn tint of gold-
From the lightning in the sky
As it pass'd me flying by-
From the thunder and the storm,
And the cloud that took the form
(When the rest of Heaven was blue)
Of a demon in my view.

-Edgar Allan Poe

The Next Step

The legends of the sins pre-date the organization of the Church and Dante. The sins were fables and told to children to teach morals. The great majority of these old fables are lost. Credit for bringing the sins back into light was Dante Alighieri, with his books like Inferno and The Divine Comedy. I'm not excatly sure which of the sins he inclueded but I know it wasn't all ten, at least not all at once. The Church takes credit for the sins now. When they first took the idea they docked off cenodoxia, apathia, and maerens. They're now trying to get some of the strangest things inducted as a deadly sin, like polygomy and homosexuality, but everyone who sees this will know that there are only ten deadly sins; gula, luxuria, acedi, avaritia, invidia, ira, superbia, cenodoxia, apathia, and maerens. The sins the Church preach and take credit for are the Church sins. The Church was also the force that came up with the seven heavenly/cardinal virtues. Truth be told, all of their seven are to fight off only superbia and cenodoxia, no matter what they say. Those are the two most powerful. But the seven heavenly virtues don't really have anything to do with the ten dealy sins from the lost fables. It looks like this is going to be a short post for today.

Introducing the Sins

Just to start out I'll name them off in order:
1.) gluttony
2.) lust
3.) sloth
4.) greed
5.) envy
6.) wrath
7.) pride
8.) vainglory
9.) apathy
10.) melancholy
1.) gula
2.) luxuria
3.) acedi
4.) avaritia
5.) invidia
6.) ira
7.) superbia
8.) cenodoxia
9.) apathia
10.) maerens

The sins are placed in that order because it's supposed to be from bad to worst. Cenodoxia, apathia, and maerens are the exceptions since they've been forgotten for centuries. The funny thing is that cenodoxia was the original sin, with apathia and maerens coming into light not long after luxuria and gula. When acedi was added, apathia was omitted. The same thing happened when superbia was added as the seventh and worst with cenodoxia. Superbia is a more general term while cenodoxia isn't, so they can still be seperated. Maerens was the last sin to be kicked out. By this time the Church took the sins as their own and they were now making the rules. They felt that people had a right to mourn. Of course, they had to warm up to the idea by losing someone close to them. So, cenodoxia, apathia, and maerens were omitted by the Church and that's how we got the seven that are known. Pre-date the Church and Dante, there are ten deadly sins.